WEC Seeks Board Nominees

The Wasco Electric Cooperative bylaws provide the method for nominating candidates to the board of directors.

The board of directors appoints a committee of at least five, but not more than 11, members no fewer than 30 days or more than 90 days before the date of the annual meeting to select nominees for election to the board.

The list of candidates must be posted in the WEC office at least 20 days before the election.

Other nominations may be made by providing a petition signed by at least 15 members no fewer than 15 days before the election.

Three Districts Up for Election

Candidates will be selected from three districts, with one director elected from each district each year:

  • District 1 serves The Dalles, Mosier and Dufur areas.
  • District 2 encompasses Sherman County and southeast Wasco County, including Shaniko, Antelope and Ashwood.
  • District 3 includes the areas of Tygh Valley, Maupin and the Warm Springs Reservation.

Notify the Office if Interested in Serving

If you, as a member, are interested in becoming a candidate for the board of directors, we suggest you contact the WEC office so your name may be submitted to the nominating committee for consideration at its September meeting.

Members of the nominating committee want to hear from members who are willing and able to serve.

If you wish to become a nominee by petition, please have your petition—containing 15 signatures of members—to the WEC office by Friday, September 13, so your picture and resume are received in time for publication in both the annual meeting booklet and Ruralite.

If you are asked to serve on the nominating committee, please make an effort to attend the meeting and offer your input for the good of your cooperative.

Seven Cooperative Principles

Cooperatives around the world operate according to a core set of principles. These principles, along with the cooperative purpose of improving quality of life for their members, make electric cooperatives different from other electric utilities. The seven principles are:

  • Voluntary and Open Membership.
  • Democratic Member Control.
  • Members’ Economic Participation.
  • Autonomy and Independence.
  • Education, Training and Information.
  • Cooperation Among Cooperatives.
  • Concern for Community.